Interview with Kimberly Kincaid of the Pine Mountain series

First and foremost I want to take the time to thank Kimberly Kincaid for doing an awesome interview with myself and Amy.  We are so glad that you joined us and we can’t wait for more Pine Mountain books!!  Gimme Some Sugar was just released June 3rd

 

1.  How did the Pine Mountain series come about?
Book #1, TURN UP THE HEAT, popped into my head after I heard a Matt Nathanson song on the radio one night. But my family went on an amazing vacation in the Blue Ridge a few years ago, and I always wanted to set a series there. I wrote the first three books back to back, then when I sold them to Kensington, we worked in the precursor anthology, THE SUGAR COOKIE SWEETHEART SWAP, after the fact. Then we added books 4 and 5 to the mix once we realized we had a great series on our hands. Both of those come out in 2015.
2.  What advice would you give to others who want to write but aren’t sure where to start?
It seems simple, but start with your butt in the chair and your hands on the keyboard. In the beginning, I didn’t even know how to tag dialogue properly! The learning curve is huge, but it is there. I’d also suggest joining the Romance Writers of America (if romance is your genre), and checking out the online classes they offer. There are lots of great sites like Romance University, too, where you can learn all sorts of craft tips. But the most important thing is to write!
3.  How do you come up with the names of your characters?
 I am actually very particular about this! It’s like naming my kids 🙂 I use baby name books and websites, and sometimes I ask my readers on Facebook. But the characters all seem to “fit” their names in my head. When I hear the right one, I jump up and yell, “That’s it!” 
4.  In your Bio it says you like to cook/bake, what is your favorite thing to make?
It changes day to day. We eat a lot of fresh produce. Last week I made a strawberry cake with local berries from our farm co-op (not my recipe, but it’s a favorite over here) Next week if I get tomatoes, I’ll make bruschetta. We get a box of goodies every week, and I never know what’s going to be in it. They give us what’s fresh, and we go from there!
5.  How long did it take for your first book to be published?  Was it hard?
TURN UP THE HEAT was my fourth complete manuscript, and the first one to sell. It took just under three years to sell it. It was definitely challenging, and there were days where I thought, “This is never happening.” But then the next morning, I’d get up, dust myself off, and plunk back down in the chair to write another scene, or take a class, or read a book by a favorite author to see how they do it. And then in July 2012, I got The Call!
6.  I know a lot of authors are doing street teams now.  Do you have one?
I do! My street team is called the Taster Testers, and right now it is based on Facebook. All readers willing to help spread the word about new releases in exchange for fun contests, exclusive excerpts and updates, and general fun can come on over!
7.  Do you like to listen to music while you write, if so what kind?
Nope. I need total silence in order to get in the zone. Although music does make up a big part of my brainstorming process.
8.  When writing do you make lists and plan or do you just write and what comes to, you write/type it?
Total plotter. I need a solid outline, pictures of what my characters look like, lists of their dialogue, their background and motivations and goals all in my head before I can type “Chapter One”.
Will_dividerGimme Some Sugar cover

Out of the frying pan. . .and into the fire!

Desperate to escape the spotlight of her failed marriage to a fellow celebrity-chef, Carly di Matisse left New York City for a tiny town in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The restaurant she’s running these days may not be chic, but in Pine Mountain she can pretend to be the tough cookie everybody knows and loves. Until she finds herself spending too much time with a way-too-hot contractor whose rugged good looks melt her like butter. . .

Jackson Carter wasn’t looking for love. But he’s not the kind of man to walk away from a worksite–or from a fiery beauty whose passionate nature provides some irresistible on-the-job benefits. . .

It’s the perfect temporary arrangement for two ravenous commitment-phobes–except that Jackson and Carly keep coming back for seconds. . .and thirds. . .and fourths. . .

2d1mgxe
About Kimberly Kincaid
about-kimberly-kincaid
Kimberly Kincaid writes contemporary romance novels that split the difference between sexy and sweet, taking the traditional idea of boy-meets-girl and infusing it with a sassy magic all her own. She believes in fiery yet flawed characters destined for a crash-course in falling in love– usually the hard way– and injects her trademark humor as well as poignant touches into her writing to create her stories.Kimberly’s writing journey has led down some bumpy roads (that first manuscript is under the bed, where it is very likely to stay), but there has been some fresh pavement too (her second manuscript earned her very first contest final, and landed the fantastic Maureen Walters at the Curtis Brown Literary Agency). One thing is certain — the wild ride of being a writer is a lot richer in both its ups and downs because of friends and readers along the path.

When Kimberly’s not sitting cross-legged in an ancient desk chair known as “The Pleather Bomber”, she can be found practicing obscene amounts of yoga, whipping up anything from enchiladas to eclairs in her kitchen, or curled up with her nose in a book. She resides in northern Virginia with her wildly patient husband and their three daughters.

 

Link for Amazon

 

Link for B & N

 

GoodReads 

Leave a comment