The Orb of Truth by Brae Wykoff Book Tour

Today we have Brae Wykoff here to tell us how he made his ideas come alive and share a little about his book The Orb of Truth!  Enjoy!

IT IS TIME!

Are you an entrepreneur? Do you have tons of ideas but don’t know what to do with them?

My name is Brae Wyckoff, author of The Orb of Truth epic fantasy series, and co-founder to an international ministry called The Greater News.

Let me start by saying that building your brand takes time and commitment. My wife and I started The Greater News September 4th, 2010 on Facebook. We were so angry watching the news each day showing nothing but death, rape, and destruction. We had personally seen first-hand miracles and wondered why there was no coverage on the news of these amazing events. Thus, TGN was birthed. We had no idea how popular it would become. Over two years later, it is approaching 5,000 FB followers, been viewed millions of times in over 20 countries, and our new website launched this year. It has grown so much that my wife and I are now getting TGN a non-profit status and plan on visiting churches and ministries around the world to share the goodness of God and to let people know that God is very much alive and moving supernaturally in peoples lives.

This is an example of starting something and watching it grow. We would have never understood the impact of this without starting it. We could have just talked about how great it would be or could be and seen nothing happen.

Do you have something that burns inside of you? “Pay attention to your tears, they point to your destiny.”

I have always wanted to be an author and have had stories inside of me waiting to be released. I wish I had a dollar for every time I heard someone tell me that they have a book they want to write. If you have that dormant book then it is time to awaken it and get it out of your system. I am a Christian who loves fantasy. I grew up playing D&D (Dungeons and Dragons) and several times was conflicted within myself on whether I should be writing anything fantasy with my religious beliefs. It was JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis that really gave me the freedom to write as a Christian within this genre. I wanted something epic and full of adventure but mainly I wanted a message but not a preachy message.

I have always asked myself, “What is my destiny in life? What is my purpose?”

I took these questions and themed it throughout within the characters portrayed within the pages of The Orb of Truth. The Orb is the first of the series and it came out November 17th, 2012. It took me six months to write it with another year of re-writes and editing. I have the second book with my editor and it will be out later this year (2013). It is the sequel and is called The Dragon God. I have woven my faith throughout my stories but at the same time have found balance with the general ups and downs we all experience in our day to day life in reality. I wanted rich character development to really enhance the story. You will gravitate to at least one of the characters in my book and truly connect with the adventure.

I have started so many things and continue to juggle them. I started my own blog talk radio show called Broadcast Muse where I interview amazing people from around the world. Guess what gang, it is free to start and all you need is a computer and phone. That’s it. You just have to do it.

I have launched my own website (www.braewyckoff.com) where I have many of my endeavors listed on there, including all of my social networking pages.

Does success come over night? NOPE! I’m still working toward success in all my ventures and as the months go by and then eventually the years pass, I will be able to look back and be thankful I started things back then.

The key to this message is start with what you are passionate about. Dig deep within yourself and see the fruit of your labor. Be blessed everyone!

The Orb of Truth Synopsis and Excerpt

“It’s a cross between Lord of the Rings and the Wizard of OZ where you will be swept away into a magical land of Dwarves, Elves, and Halflings.”

—Brae Wyckoff

 

Voted #1 BEST fantasy book under the radar!

Voted #1 Best Christian Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book!

Voted #1 Best Indie Fantasy Book!

 The Orb Of Truth

Synopsis:

In the hundreds of years since the Holy City disappeared, darkness has fallen over the land. Human kingdoms have seized control of the realm, scattering the other races into hiding.

Bridazak, a skilled thief, and his friends, a Dwarf and a fellow Ordakian, have dared to remain within the human communities and live relatively quiet lives, until they discover a mysterious, magical artifact. The three friends are thrust into an adventure that will challenge their faith, their purpose, and their destiny as they chase a forgotten and lost prophecy across the realm of Ruauck-El, where they hope to discover the origins of the strange item and their place in its history.

An ancient, unknown enemy threatens the completion of their journey at every turn. Bridazak is about to face the biggest adventure of his life, one that may change the known realm, and answer the questions he has carried all his life. Will they unlock the truth?

Profile Pic

About the Author:

Brae Wyckoff was born and raised in San Diego, CA and is working toward a Psychology degree. He has been married to his beautiful wife, Jill, for 20 years, and they have three children; Tommy, Michelle, and Brittany. He has a beautiful grandson named Avery. Brae has been an avid gamer since 1985. His passion for mysterious realms and the supernatural inspired him to write The Orb of Truth, the first in a series of fantasy action adventures. Brae describes The Orb of Truth as a cross between the Lord of the Rings and the Wizard of OZ where you will be swept away into a magical land of Dwarves, Elves, and Halflings.

 

Excerpt:

A scene from The Orb of Truth

“Who dares to enter my domain?” The deep voice bellowed.

Bridazak hesitated before speaking up, “I’m Bridazak and these are my friends. We seek an audience with The Great Oculus.”

The voice thundered once more, “Two ordakians and a dwarf, in a place they should not be. Many seek my voice, but find only fated death. What has brought you to the door of oblivion?”

“A mystery, one that came from my dream. We seek your help, oh Great One,” said the Ordakian.

“Show me what has turned from a dream into reality.”

Bridazak produced the ornate box in his small hands, and began to speak, “We don’t know what the writing—”

“Silence!” The ground shook under their feet. “I know what you seek, but you must answer my riddle. If you are correct, then I will reveal to you the meaning of this gift. If you fail, then you will be sent to the grave. There will be no rest inside the gates of the netherworld, your soul will thirst for death again for all eternity and generations forthcoming will never know you existed.”

“What about my friends?”

“You came here together as one accord and you will live or die in the same manner. Your riddle is this, little-one:

Rigid but born to perfection

I wonder who brought me my blissful conception

I am gazed upon by many lonely eyes

Standing there to be portrayed with lies

There are questions that surround me

Thinking, feeling, hearing, I can see

No movement comes from within

I am forsaken because I lack earthly skin

So true is my heart without a beat

Now I drink the rainwater, tasting bittersweet

Crafted by art in life’s forgiving hand

Brought from afar to this known fatherland

Trying to find the meaning of my existence

A voice comes here and there showing the eminence

The task performed in drought of the grandmaster

Born in stillness could have been my disaster

Braving the depth of a complex web

Weaved and woven in the delight of the ebb

Now and forever in eternal agony’s darkness

Never to move to touch, only to feel a sweet caress.

Of what do I speak?”

Author Links:

Author page:  http://www.braewyckoff.com/

Blog:  http://orboftruth.blogspot.com/

Fan club:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/210437715767673/

LR Publishing FB page:  https://www.facebook.com/LRPublishing

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6420295.Brae_Wyckoff

Book Links:

Amazon paperback:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Orb-Truth-Volume-1/dp/1479313262/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353350627&sr=8-1&keywords=brae+wyckoff

E-Book Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Truth-Horn-King-Series-ebook/dp/B00AGIQYWO/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1354403443&sr=1-1&keywords=orb+truth


Coming this year!

The Dragon God

 

4 thoughts on “The Orb of Truth by Brae Wykoff Book Tour

  1. Pingback: The Orb of Truth by Brae Wykoff Book Tour | ChristianBookBarn.com

Leave a Reply

